American Girls

In response to this Daily Prompt

____________________________

When I was a kid we used to get the catalogs in the mail from American Girl. We’d get one or two a year, and it was a big ordeal.

I thought of it as my “magazine” since I didn’t get any actual magazines (As kids generally don’t lol). I’d take it to my room and get on the bed and sit down with it and excitedly read through it from one end to the other.

I knew that all of the things in it were terribly expensive and I knew that we couldn’t afford any of them and I knew I’d never have anything in any of those catalogs, but that didn’t matter to me. What did matter was imagining what I would do if I did have those things, or better yet, imagining that those dolls, and their characters, and their things, were all real people and what would happen then.

What if I was Julie’s sister? Julie Albright was always my favorite. What if Kit Kitrige was real? She took second place. What if all the “Just like you” dolls lived together in a…. in an orphanage like those old Shirley Temple movies always seem to start in? What if all the Bitty Babies were actual babies?

I kept all of them. In fact I’ve recently been going through boxes and found most of them; the earliest one I have is from 2007 and the latest from 2011.

I haven’t kept a lot of the things I’ve found in going through boxes but I kept those. Who knows, maybe they’ll come in handy one day. 😀

________________________________________________

It has no bearing on this post but the title put this awesome song in my head and it won’t go away now. I consider the first verse of this song to like my theme song:

“Well she was an American girl, raised on promises

She couldn’t help thinking that there was a little more to life somewhere else

After all it was a great big world with lots of places to run to

And if she had to die trying she had one little promise she was gonna keep…”

I have been “raised on promises” if you will, and I now an compelled to keep them. I do feel that there’s more to life somewhere else and my promise is to move to Chicago no matter what. No matter how many people tell me I’ll end up giving up and coming back home I’m still doing it, even if I DO give up and come back home, which I doubt, but even if I do, I’ll get to say I tried it. That’s enough for me.

Here’s the actual song. 🙂

Leave a Reply

