Omigosh An Award!!!

Okay people.

Okay.

So.

I’m reading my email on my phone, thinking how I really ought to clean out my inbox, but then again there’s a lot of things I ought to do that somehow haven’t been done, and all of a sudden I see an email title that catches my eye.

It’s got a lot of internet gobbldy-gook, but the bit that isn’t cut off says “Pingback on your page About Me”. (by gobledy gook I mean the apostrophes are all, like, “&hndv5“`*elephant” and crap, because when I read my email on my phone that’s what happens and I don’t know why).

And I thought, “Hmm. That’s more than someone mentioning a post offhand or a pingback from the daily post. That’s like, intentional, cause it’s the about page.”

So, I opened it, and waited 12 million years for the pictures to download, and it had a quote where someone not only intentionally mentioned this very blog, but COMPLIMENTED IT and I was like HOLY CATS what is going on!?

And I opened the link, and it was icedteapurplegem from Naturally Dreamy, and she nominated me! Yaysies! Thank you so much! You’re like, my cheerleader over there, following my blog and liking more posts than not and actually commenting on stuff (I think you’re like, the only one) and you nominate me for challenges and now you have nominated me for an award! Congrats on getting it yourself too, you totally earned it! I may not remember to follow up on all the posts on my reader (and your posts don’t show up in my reader, I have to go to your blog to check for new ones despite the fact that I follow you, which is… weird…. but whatever) I do read and enjoy your posts very much! 🙂

Oh, wait, I guess I should tell you what she nominated me for, huh? *g* This:

Leibster Award

Yes, the Liebster Award! I’m so excited and I’m not even 100% sure what that is! :p

Okay, I quote from here,

The Liebster Award is basically an award that is by bloggers, for bloggers. It’s passed from person to person to encourage connection and support within our writing community, and to aid in the discovery of new and upcoming bloggers.

Yes, I follow and read other blogs, but no, I did not know what that meant at all. I know, I don’t pay attention but there’s just so much stuff I do and I’m so busy and I do get kind of distracted sometimes and ooh a sparkly thing!

Ahem. Sorry. :p Anyway.

So, what you have to do to accept this award- and as such, what I must do to accept this award- is the following:

  • Nominate 10 blogs who have less than 1000 followers (pingback to the about page I think)
  • Answer 10 questions from the person who nominated you
  • Ask 10 questions to your nominees
  • Thank the person who nominated you

I already did one of those lol, so let’s move on to the top three!

Before I give you my nominees, I’d like to say that I always feel bad about stuff like this because some people will inevitably left out but *le sigh* Just know I consider everyone I follow worthy of nomination, these are just the ones I could even think of right now. And icedteapurplegem had lovely speeches to go with each of her nominees (including me!). Unfortunate, I don’t really and I feel like you’re going to read this and think man, that was lame, but here we go… (they are in no particular order, they all open in new tabs because I am a nice person).

Oh. I fudged the whole “10 blogs” because It just… didn’t work out. I just don’t follow enough blogs! Ughh. I love reading blogs but I don’t have time… I barely read the ones I do follow and I regret that enough (regret missing posts, not reading blogs lol)…. So, six is just going to have to be good enough. It’s just too bad I can’t nominate the blog who nominated me or I’d have 7 LOL.

Dreaming. Living. Loving. | A fellow INFP who makes some interesting posts and has some thought-provoking views on the world.

Surviving INFP | A blog run by I don’t even know how many people at this point, all talking about the INFP. (I just realized how many INFP blogs I follow…)

ukuleledaily | A blog run by a fellow player of the ukulele! She also writes, and has a very entertaining blog and writing style. (I don’t think she has an about page so I pinged to her latest post instead).

Write Me Up! | She has a lot of interesting experiences, reviews, and photos to share!

thoughts to be pondered | A ton of abstract posts, fiction, and quotes. This is so my kind of blog…

Crackers in the Dessert | Art. Art everywhere, and it’s really really good art, and there’s music too, and sometimes just her thoughts. This was the first blog I followed, and it’s changed a lot since then, but I still read it and enjoy it!

_____________

Okay, the questions. Right. Here we go.

1. What music did you grow up with? (like artists, bands and genres)?

My Mom has always been big into Bluegrass. Her favorites are Blue Highway and the Steep Canyon Rangers (with or without Steve Martin), IIIrd Time Out, Chris Jones and the Night Drivers, the Grascals, the Gibson Brothers… and Dad listens to country because it’s the least offensive thing he can find on the radio. :p

So, I remember when I’d be in the house with mom, hearing stuff like the Gibson brothers doing “I’m walking west to Memphis” and the Grascals “Roll Muddy River” and the SCR doing something like “Sleepy-Eyed John”.

When I was out with Dad in the garage or just around it in the yard, it was Jesus Take The Wheel every freaking five seconds, or that one I can’t recall the name of about how if heaven wasn’t so far away / we’d pack up the kids and go for the day / take them to meet their grandpa / and watch them laugh at the way he talked (I appreciate the message in that one) or even that Carrie Underwood song called Good Girl (is that what’s called? I always found myself lamenting the lyric writing in that song so much I forgot the title)….

When I was about 9 or 10, we didn’t have TV anymore due to the expense so one evening we’re sitting in the living room and Mom and Dad are playing songs they remember from their day (70s-80s rock) on YouTube, and I was sitting there going yeah, that stuff is awesome… and here I am approaching 16, obsessed with classic rock, a huge fan of Triumph and Genesis and Phil Collins and Journey and REO Speedwagon and Styx and Night Ranger and oh man so many….

2. What impresses you that doesn’t impress somebody else? (i.e.: I think Hobbit/Sherlock cross-overs are super clever and hilarious and BT thinks they are lame.)?

Hmm. That would probably have to be… Music. Now, hear me out here, I realize how that must sound.

See, when I hear music, I actually THINK about the lyrics, I think about what they mean and how well they’re written and the emotions they evoke. I hear the music and focus on every note, every beat, take it in and think about it, think about the emotions it evokes, think about how well it goes with the lyrics and how hard it would e to play.

Most people just see music as background music, and many of them don’t pay very much attention to lyrics (Most songs I hear on the radio on stores or whatever, the lyrics are genuinely painful in places…not all of them, certainly, but many) And the music is just, I don’t know. It call sounds like the same computer enhanced or generated sounds to me. And what the hay happened to guitar solos? Or solos in general? (Now it seems like every song I hear has the singer going “woah woah woooah” in place of a solo… well, to each his own…)

If you want a simple answer, that makes sense, The Magnificent Seven TV show is my favorite show in the history of ever and no one else knows it exists. Or the character of Cabe Gallo from <Scorpion/>, who most people forget about….

3. What song do you race to the radio to turn off? Turn up?

Well, if you read the answer above, most modern music. Any rap/hiphop/modern pop really…. there are songs that I do appreciate (by bands like the American Authors or One Republic) but most don’t appeal to my personal tastes and some do genuinely drive me nuts. As for turning up, Um, I anything by any of the bands I mentioned my listening to in the first question. Seriously, I listen to odd music so if it gets played on the radio, I have a freak out moment and turn it up. Even if it’s just a song I remotely know the chorus to I get excited. Man, I’m weird…

4. What skill do you want to have? (That you may or may not have?)

I want to have good stage presence. I want to be able to interact with a crowd. I don’t really know whether I have this skill or not, but I do know that as a dancer, I am comfortable on a stage. I’m thinking as a musician though.

5. If there is a question from the set I was asked that you are dying to answer go ahead!

Can I fudge this and answer a question from the person who nominated the person who nominated me? Cool, thanks…

Things you look forward to?

I look forward to the evening when I can relax and check my subscriptions on YouTube, glance through my email for notifications from Google+ or Tumblr (it’s not like actual humans email me), and I can chill at night and know I’m the only one around.

6. When was the last time you laughed and what were you laughing about/at? (It can be super silly, it’s okay.)

I’m sure it was today but I genuinely don’t remember, probably at my cat Reckless though, but… let’s say last night, at this Whose Line clip that I have re-watched a gazillion times…

7. What question are you wishing I was asking you? Go ahead and answer it!

Oh man, I love these questions! :p

Uh… Do I have any TV shows I want to call attention to or recommend? Yes. Yes, I do.

The Magnificent Seven, <Scorpion/>, The Young Riders, The Mentalist, Person of Interest, Columbo, Whose Line Is It Anyway (all three versions).

There. Go watch those. You will not regret it (unless you don’t like mysteries & improv comedy…. And you will love Mag7 even you generally don’t like Westerns… it’s the characters and the writing. They are simply amazing).

8. Do you have an accent? If you do, (I guess, who doesn’t!?) do you like it or do you wish it was different?

Yeah, I guess I do. This is the results from my last accent test:

Which American Accent Do You Actually Have    Personality Quiz

I disagree with “don’t ya know” (that’s farther north than me) and I call it a soft drink, or soda, but most my family calls it pop.

I am indifferent because I don’t really notice my accent, so…. whatever I guess. :p

My favorite accent is the English accent (I know, everyone freaks and says “British accents!!! but I am specific and picky, and I say English accents). I think that would be cool to have for a day. I also love certain Southern US accents, think Ezra Standish from Magnificent Seven (go on YouTube, actually screw it watch this video clip right here) or like the many southern belles that passed through Sweet Water and Rock Creek on The Young Riders. I don’t know for sure where said accents come from.

9. What did you think of the last movie you watched?

Last movie I watched was Frequency, and I adored it. I also shocked myself because I recognized Jim Caviezel (from Person Of Interest) in the movie and I never recognize actors cause I never watch movies. :p It was about this guy and his son getting into contact with each other through time with old technology, and how they have to save the world together, because everything the dad does in the past effects the world his son lives in… in the future. That is a crap description but go watch that movie, seriously, I loved it.

10. What’s the story behind your favorite photo?

Huh. I don’t have a favorite photo that I took, but here is one whose original source I cannot for the life of me find, but if you know please let me know and I will link:

SavedPicture-20137201480.jpg

I just love it. It makes me think of, I don’t know, that moment right before night and day separate and the beam of light I would like to imagine shoot from the heavens to signify the change… yeah, that was fiction. But I like to imagine that anyway.

Wow, now I have to have questions… don’t I? Well, I’m stealing two of iceteapurplegem’s because I loved them, but otherwise, hmm….

1. Do you have any pets? If not, what kind would you get if you could/wanted to?

2. What sort of value to place on a sense of belonging?

3. If you spend a month hanging out with someone…. who would you hang out with? (i.e. I’d like to hang out with the band Styx for a month. First of all, they’re all hilarious and second of all, I’d learn a lot)

4. If I answered a question you want to answer, go ahead! If not, do you run any other websites/blogs/social media pages? (answer both if you like lol)

5. Do you know anything about your personality type? (MBTI, ennegram, socionics, 16type, sp/sx/whatever…. tell us about it if you do!)

6. I know you are thinking of something you wish I had asked you, so ask yourself, and answer it! 

7. Your musical tastes, and how do you perceive them (lyric oriented, music oriented, or do you hear both as much as the each other?)

8. What do you think are the most underrated bits of pop culture? (Underrated TV show, book, character, actor, movie, band- help them get less underrated!)

9. Favorite YouTubers if any, and what they do (i.e. JAMbeauty89 is my favorite beauty vlogger, and Nerdcubed and Far Lands or Bust are my favorite gamers, etc etc).

10. Last one!…. What seems to impress everyone else, but not you? (i.e. I am distinctly unimpressed with Harry Potter and the Lord of the Rings but I am apparently the only person to think that way).

__________

Good luck! I’ll be watching for your acceptances guys! 🙂 Thanks again to icedteapurplegem for nominating me!

Leave a Reply

