I Wish It Would Rain Down

I have purposefully forsaken grammar in this post for expression’s sake… deal with it…

You know that overwhelming emotion?

That one that happens when there’s so much going on, and so much inside you, it just needs to come out but you don’t know how to make it come out because there’s just so much raw feeling, and hurt, and scars, and it’s all gone wrong?

You know how you feel when you realize something that means everything to you has gone from the thing your life revolves around to the thing you’ll never have again, and there is no way to express those feelings?

Sometimes it’s just unstoppable. It’s that moment when this:

i don't know what my feelings are doing GIF

becomes your only thought, along with just a big, empty, desolate blackness and an innate sadness that you can’t seem to escape as much as you try.

It weighs down on you, pressed you to the cold ground and you want nothing more that to escape it all but you can’t. You wish for nothing more than to make it all go away. Just make the pain go away.

Nothing will. You know that nothing will.

And it’s all too much and it’s all crashing down around you and it hurts even more because you thought you had dealt with everything and you thought you were fine and when you least expect it, the floodgates open and here it comes again, and you know there’s nothing you can do about it and that only makes it hurt more.

You find yourself in a broken pile, decimated by your flooding emotions, and you want nothing more than to be cleansed by the rain, you want nothing more than to let the rain wash away everything and start again. You just want the skies to open up and wash you away because you just can’t handle it anymore. You just wish it could rain down.

It can come from many things. A failed relationship. A failed dream. The end of a life.

A song by Phil Collins.

The song I’m talking of is I Wish It Would Rain Down.

Music has such power. It can make you feel everything and nothing all at once, happy and sad at the same time.

It can drag our every once of feeling in your body, stomp on it, and shove it back in.

It can make you feel what the lyricist felt. It can make you sympathize perfectly with things you’ve never truly experienced.

I’m going to quote Phil Collins from his Storytellers appearance.

“Well, I Wish It Would Rain Down, that was, um… that was kind of the closest… thing that I kind of got to the blues. It’s a bit like, I guess… well, sort of, the idea is, when you think you’ve dealt with something, and then you just… happen to walk down the street one day, and then you just happen to bump into someone.  And then suddenly that can of worms that you thought you dealt with, gets opened up again. And that’s sort of, you know, ‘I never thought I’d see you again, but now I just wish it would rain down, because I just can’t handle this’, you know?”

This song is one of only a few songs that have the ability to completely encompass my every emotion and shape them into something. It’s the most feeling song I know. The most powerful song I know.

The music video below is the official one; it’s rather long and starts off with a (sadly) Realistic scene where a tyrannical director criticizes everyone and everything including Phil Collins. The video is cool, but I suggest you ignore it for a moment, and just scroll down and read the lyrics, and experience the emotional roller-coaster sure to follow.

But before you do that, one thing:

Though your hurt it gone, mine’s hanging on inside

And I know, it’s eating me through every night and day

I’m just waiting on your sign

I know I never meant to cause you no pain, and I realize I let you down

And I know in my heart of hearts, I’m never gonna hold you again, no

The singer still loves the person, and it’s all crashing down, and they are waiting for things to go back to the way they were and for the feelings to go away and to start new, but they know deep down that it won’t. It never will. They know deep down they’ll never hold them again.

Couple that with Eric Clapton’s amazing guitar work- his guitar really is crying- and Phil Collin’s amazing, emotion-conveying vocals, the incredibly well-written lyrics, the minor keys of the song… and you have a masterpiece.

You know I never meant to see you again
But I only passed by as a friend, yeah
All this time I stayed out of sight
I started wondering why

Now I, I wish it would rain down, down on me
Ooh yes I wish it would rain, rain down on me now
Ooh yes I wish it would rain, down on me
Ooh yes I wish it would rain on me

You said you didn’t need me in your life
Oh I guess you were right, yeah
Ooh I never meant to cause you no pain
But it looks like I did it again

Now I, now I know I wish it would rain down, down on me
Ooh yes I wish it would rain, rain down on me now
Ooh girl I wish it would rain, down on me
Ooh yes I wish it would rain on me

Though your hurt is gone, mines hanging on, inside
And I know it’s eating me through every night and day
I’m just waiting on your sign

‘Cause I know, I know I never meant to cause you no pain
And I realize I let you down
But I know in my heart of heart of hearts
I know I’m never gonna hold you again

Now I, now I know I wish it would rain down, down on me
Oh you know I wish it would rain, rain down on me now
Ooh yes I wish it would rain, down on me
Yes you know I wish it would rain, rain down on me
Just rain down on me

And for fun, here is the (very much shortened) Storytellers clip I was talking about.

Leave a Reply

