Pure Vexation

In response to this daily post

__________

Multiplication is pure vexation

Division is just as bad

The rule of three perplexes me

And fractions drive me mad

I’ll not go into percentages

Or geometry

Areas and parameters?

Do it yourself- don’t come to me!

Addition, subtraction, and subtrahends,

I fancy it’s all just hooey

Don’t even start me on algebra

Adding the alphabet? Phooey!


Meet my arch nemesis: Mathematics.

I suck at it. I mean, of all the scores regarding my SAT I’m most concerned will be totally abysmal, it’s the math score.

I think the main reason I’m bad at it is I hate it.

Why is that?

The basic answer is math has rules. I don’t much care for rules. I wasn’t made to do that sort of thing. I mean, I know what I need to do deal with my own finances and stuff, but that doesn’t mean I have to enjoy it. (The sheer amount of days during which I haven’t needed to use algebra is staggering, though).

I mean, it’s like, if you ask me to play you a song, I will. But I’ll play that song the way I play it. You’ll still recognize the song- it’ll have the same musical sound, and theme, and lyrics, and certain lines will be sung exactly the same way the original song was. But I’ll still do it the way I choose to do it, the way I interpret it, the way I see it as being.

There is no right or wrong way to play a song. As long as it’s on key and musically… y’know… musical… someone, somewhere, will like it. There is no right and wrong, black and white, in music. Just a big field of gray- and you can set up your house wherever you like in that field, and rest assured that sooner or later, you’ll have roommates.

But math doesn’t work that way.

You can ask me to do a math problem. I can do that math problem. But you’ll tell me EXACTLY how to do that problem. There’s no interpretation, no how I choose to do it, no how I see it. I must be you. I must do everything the way YOU say because you make the rules.

And you know what? I hate that. There’s no gray area, it’s all black and white, right and wrong. I disagree with that strategy, but it means nothing, because my disagreement is also wrong. There is only one correct way to do anything when it comes to math.

I really do hate that about it. I’ve never been one for anything with a “my way or the highway” mentality attached to it.

That and, of course, the inescapable fact that if it seems easy, you’re doing it wrong….

FindX

4 thoughts on “Pure Vexation

    1. Cass W. says:

      lol, I have to say, I’ve considered doing that myself. In the end I figured at least making it LOOK like I tried to do it right was better than nothing though :p

Leave a Reply

