Kids TV Shows

I used to say I didn’t understand the point of kids TV shows: Maybe we should wait till you’re ready for real shows instead of inventing entire channels of 1-5 year old targeted programming.

I have proven myself wrong, however, because I have tried to list any of the shows I watched as a kid. We didn’t have TV in the summer (we weren’t ever inside, so we’d put it on ‘vacation’) and in winter, I wasn’t exactly permitted to spend the day with the TV- not that I would have wanted to. That’s what dolls and match box cars, and blocks and legos, and empty cardboard boxes and crayons, and the playhouse dad built me, and just plain old imagination, was for- not the TV. It was the novelty in my daily schedule. A little in the morning and maybe at lunch.

Mom didn’t watch TV, still doesn’t really, but Dad did, so if there was something I wanted to see it had to be before he got home from work around 3:00 or 4:00.

That was limiting, but once again I didn’t care as I could think up tons of more entertaining things to do with my time.

So, I have mentally went through the few shows I actually looked for on TV and have made this list….

Little Bear, Peep, Martha Speaks, Oswald, Babar, and Maggie and the Ferocious Beast. And the Saturday Morning cartoons, like Loony Tunes and the classic shows like Underdog and the Perils of Penelope Pitstop and Wacky Races and MGM, etc. But I class those all with the Saturday morning cartoons and leave it at that.

Of course Loony Tunes is Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, Pixie and Dixie and Mr. Jinx, etc. Oh, the Saturday morning prefix also sometimes would include Tom and Jerry.

So… seven shows. Usually I didn’t catch them, the only one I would get without fail when it showed was Peep in fact. So I was never attached to TV. It was just a fun distraction once in a while.

I must say that I have decided: in moderation, TV isn’t actually that silly in the age group. It just seems like it once you’re no longer IN the age group.

Okay, that was pretty pointless but still, you get the idea. 🙂 lol.

2 thoughts on “Kids TV Shows

    1. Cass W. says:

      Yeah, we no longer have TV either.
      haha, I forgot about Clifford. It was on at weird times but every now and then they did a marathon that I really liked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

