Why the truth hurts

I promise to stop bombarding you with posts go do something constructive after this one. 😉

I’ll get into after a little bit, but long story short my new favorite show is The Mentalist. I just found out about it at the season 6 finale, so I was watching old clips on YouTube and found this rather entertaining explanation for why the truth hurts.

I don’t know if it’s true or not, but it’s such a Patrick Jane thing to say to somebody, so it may not be. Regardless here is the clip… I’ll write what he says down below though.

It starts around 0:20 and ends around 0:52.

The truth hurts, I know. It’s biologically based, actually. Our brains process sound faster than they do light, but light moves faster than sound so our brains are constantly shifting realities so the world synchs up.

Only when someone is standing 30 yards away do we see and hear the world exactly as it is. That’s when, in your brain, sound and light are in perfect harmony.

The rest of the time we are living in a world of lies. Lies are what make the world makes sense.

Ergo, the truth hurts.

Leave a Reply

