Random Thought #8

I hate hot weather.

I love the summer, but I hate hot weather.

I define hot as 87+ degrees [Fahrenheit].

It gets hot at 80 when there’s humidity involved.

Today was 90 and VERY humid and Dad and I ripped the siding off the front of the house to find the lovely old clapboards there. Very hot and sticky.

It’s cooling off but it’s still warm upstairs so I put a box fan in my window, put it on high, drug my bouncy round chair in front of it and grabbed some ice water, my laptop and a book, and here I sit surviving the heat. 🙂

We have no air, but some days I wish we did.

One thought on “Random Thought #8

  1. SoSaysSunny says:

    Hey there …

    I found your blog through About.me … it seems you viewed my page … we’re both INTPs so I suppose that’s how you found me.

    ANYWAY …

    I grew up just outside sticky-sweaty-sweltering Atlanta with no A/C so, may I suggest, have you considered swimming in the tub? That’s what I call it when I take a room temp bath and don’t bother with the cleaning part.

    As a certified nerd (I majored in Astrophysics & Math), I’d like to explain why it works: You see, water is really nifty stuff.

    When water evaporates it absorbs heat and cools the area (like most stuff). In Arizona and other dry places, this effect can give you the chills when you get out of a pool on a 90+F day! They even make evaporative “swamp coolers” — a form of A/C using that cooling property.

    But none of that is helpful when it’s humid outside. *sigh*

    Fear Not! Water has another neat feature, its high “heat capacity”. That effect is why it takes so long for water to boil: you can put in a lot of heat but the temp doesn’t go up much. So, as long as the bath temp is less than 98.6F, the water will absorb the heat you radiate without warming up very much. That’s also why it is so dangerous to get wet when it’s cold outside.

    Oh, and one more awesome thing about water: Unlike just about every other known substance, water expands when it freezes. This is what makes ice float. This is also what makes ice rinks so slippery under ice skate blades — the pressure of your weight on such a tiny area squeezes the ice back into water. If ice didn’t behave this way, lakes and oceans would freeze from the bottom up and figure skating wouldn’t be an Olympic sport!

    So there you go, a bunch of useless facts on a complete tangent.

    PS: I lovelovelove thunderstorms and I’m also an appointment-TV sort of person.

    Have a lovely summer!

    ~ Sunny

Leave a Reply

