Random Thought #4

Ughh. The F chord and I have come to terms, and barring usually isn’t a huge problem for me, but the F# chord and I are NOT getting along. I can do the baring part, and I can add the first finger, but then I’ve got to get my other to fingers way over on the fourth fret…. which, they don’t naturally bend that way. I’m sure that within the next week or two (which is how long it originally took the F and I to coincide) I’ll have figured it out, but it’s pretty annoying to literally be unable to practice the chord because my hand won’t even get close enough to try it. I read someplace somewhere about some guitarist who had figured out how to just about take their fingers out of joint to get them to reach….. which sounds painful! <.< Wish me luck I guess! I’m going to attempt it a few more times and then eat lunch. :p

5 thoughts on “Random Thought #4

  1. werner101 says:

    Ha ha…yes the F# can be a doozy! I ‘learnt’ it by playing the E Chord with the 2nd, 3rd and 4th finger, (1st finger in the air) then sliding up one fret for F (barring the 1st fret) and then just sliding up one more, keeping my fingers in the same position and simply lifting the 2nd finger. works pretty well and my fingers get used to the ‘stretch’
    I on the other hand am having issues with C#m…..

    1. Cass W. says:

      Ahh. All the Cm variations are hard in my opinion, haha. Thanks very much for the advice, I’ll try that out! 🙂 It sounds like it should work well. 😉

Leave a Reply

