Some random things about US Girls

I’ve noticed that many girls in the US fit a stereotype of some kind or another. To people who do live here, there’s about ten different ones and only two or three are desirable. To people who don’t live here, all the girls are same and that’s usually a bad thing.

I was reading random blogs and articles this morning and one I ran across involved what people visiting the US had noticed about a lot of American girls that aren’t exactly… flattering. Unfortunately, many are true, but not for me, so just for fun, I though I’d give a short response to a few of them.

I don’t want to offend people. I was not offended by the list of things wrong with me supposedly, actually I though it was rather entertaining- but maybe if you’re from Europe or some other place… (I can’t think of any likely continents right now, sorry)…. then maybe you’ll get a laugh or two out of this as well. Remember, I mean this as entertainment value, not some kind of offending material.

Okay, here you go:

____________________________

1. They’re often overweight

That’s actually true for a lot of people in America, and also in other countries. I wouldn’t say I am necessarily, but I suppose it’s a matter of opinion.

2. They’re constantly glued to their phone.

I don’t even own a phone. I hate talking on the phone, I don’t like texting, and from what I have gathered from borrowing other people’s smart phones, browsing the web on one is just a big pain. I also have some cousins and friends whose main access to the internet is their phone, so don’t judge till you know the story. For the most part though, all the young people I know are glued to their phone as are all the old people- it’s a problem for sure.

3. They cut their hair short.

I know. I personally would die before I’d cut my hair shorter than my shoulders, but most women have it in a crew cut it seems. Sometimes I walk by people with really really short hair and baggy cargo pants and a sweatshirt and I have to do a double-take…. I guess modern culture likes women to look more like men. But hey, whatever floats their boat. *shrugs*

4. They’re more impressed by a DJ than a doctor who saves lives.

I think there’s respectable DJs and respectable doctors, as well as both whose reputations are questionable, so I don’t really have any profound thoughts on that yet.

5. They think being funny and witty is a quality that men love.

Some probably do, some probably don’t. For everyone who annoys you there’s someone who adores them and all their traits, whether it be their sense of humor or their taste in music.

6. They listen to magazines like Cosmo when it comes to pleasing men.

The only magazines I read are the occasional Acoustic Guitar or Ukulele magazine when they’re out for free, and there’s certainly nothing to impress the average guy in there. But yeah, a lot of women read those fashion magazines or read those ones that pry into every aspect of some poor singer or actor. No idea what’s so great about them, but to each his own. If I was going to exercise my sarcasm, I might say that ANYONE who “listens” to a magazine will be sorely disappointed by the results. 😉

7. They don’t know how to cook.

I’m working on it. So far the list of things I can cook is fairly un-impressive but my Mom didn’t feel safe letting me loose in the kitchen alone till I was 13, and now I’m 14 and I’ve spent the last two years of my life in rentals with tiny, useless kitchens or in houses that we’re renovating and as of yet don’t have more than a temporary kitchen. For some girls though, they honestly don’t want to. I know of people who’ve married girls who refused to learn to cook in favor of pre-made dinners. All the time. For the record, people tell me they love my cheesy hash-brown casserole and my chill though.

8. They wear flip-flops even when they’re not at the beach, pool, or in their house.

Yep, I sure do, and I’m quite happy with it, to be honest. Tennis shoes make my feet hurt, and boots are too hot, and heels are intolerably painful, and flats are just…. okay, but a lot of times they rub after a while and give me a blister. In other countries it’s probably unfashionable but we’re fine with it here. Function over fashion, I always say. 😉

9. They cannot dance. They also do not know how to sing or play basic musical instruments.

I learned to clog dance when I was seven years old. I’m no match for groups like All That! and other famous clogging groups, but I can do clogging and buck dancing okay, in my opinion. I play the ukulele and am trying to learn guitar, and I’m working on the whole singing thing. I’m not going to be the next Heart, but I’m doing the best I can with what I’ve got to work with. But, a lot of girls cannot dance, sing, or play anything, so hey, maybe that’s not their desired career. I can’t say I have the best people skills, but most girls are planning careers involving people, so I guess we’re only good at what we want to be good at.

10. They idolize drug addicted celebrities, mimicking their brain-dead behaviors.

Well… I wouldn’t have worded it that way, but okay. I don’t understand most modern acts that do some questionable things or are famous for no apparent reason, and I don’t understand why girls care, but hey, I’m not here to judge. Whatever they wanna do, it’s cool.

11. They acquire pets instead of putting effort into landing a quality man.

Unless they’re, you know, petitioning the government to let them marry their dog, I think pets are lovely. Having a pet doesn’t mean you have given up all hope of marriage. Unless you’re this person, LOL:

hi we understand youre over 40 and single! cats

12. They wear pajamas in public.

I don’t. I can’t imagine why people do. But whatever… it’s their life you know. 😉

13. They like Twilight and The Secret. 

I’m not fans of either of them, at all, period. But I don’t judge people on the books they have have enjoyed, and I wouldn’t if I were you… it can lead to some weird opinions.

14. Their idea of travel is going to the beach or France.

Well, I don’t know anybody who can afford to go outside of this country. My family lives five states away and we haven’t been able to visit them for about seven years now because we can’t afford to, they always come up here. The beach is often as good as it gets. And since when was France not far enough away to be considered traveling?

15. They have too many trashy tattoos.

I don’t get the tattoo thing either.


That is so scary. Don’t you agree?

16. They make lame excuses for not putting effort into their appearance.

Well, I have a couple of reasons: I can’t afford fancy clothes, name brands, I hate makeup, my hair is as good as it’s gonna get. Seriously though, make up is my pet peeve. I will not be wearing it any time soon if I can help it. To repeat the above, I’m doing the best I can with what I’ve got to work with, lol. As for most other girls, seems to me they won’t be caught dead without make up….

17. They are acne prone.

I don’t have it, but they can’t help it. Don’t dislike people for what they can’t change, they probably dislike it as much as you do.

18. They watch way too much TV.

We don’t even have TV. I admit many girls do, but personally, the only TV shows I like are ones that have since went off the air and currently Person of Interest…. that includes Whose Line Is It Anyway, Trust Us With Your Life, Improv-a-ganza, Get Smart, the Dick Van Dike show, Mr. Ed…. you know, all the classic sitcoms, and all the improv shows, lol. But I only see them on YouTube. 😉

19. On their way home from work, they put on dirty sneakers that don’t match their outfit.

I don’t have a job, but one thing is I think I may have flat feet. I know my Dad does. Anyway, my feet hurt after a few hours wearing most shoes, so if I had to stand all day in a pair of nice looking uncomfortable shoes I couldn’t care less whether my old, comfortable shoes matched or not.  Personally, I’d be changing to old flip flops, not sneakers, but still, you get the idea. Back to that Function over Fashion thing again.

20. They’re obsessed with cupcakes.

Actually I don’t like cupcakes, but a lot of people, not just women, love them.

21. They rarely wear high heels.

High heels are dangerous, impractical, painful, and worthless, in my opinion.

22. They don’t speak a foreign language.

Nope, don’t have a reason to, really. I’m gonna have to learn Spanish someday though, many instructions only come is Spanish, as does packaging.

23. They are uncomfortable in their own skin.

I’m not the most at ease person, but I try to seem relaxed. I can’t help it if I’m a little self conscious.

24. They like Ikea furniture.

Personally I don’t think it’s worth the money, but I guess lots of people do, not just girls.

25. They have the intellectual curiosity of a dung beetle.

I debated deleting this one, but since it made 25 and all I decided to give it a go. I don’t know many insects personally, so I’m not the best judge. Let’s just say I’m trying to learn all the stuff I’m going to need to know in life ASAP and it’s overwhelming. I’m doing the best I can with what I have to work with again, and so are most humans, so hey.

___________________________________________

There you have- my observation of observations of women.

If you want the original list it’s twice as long but would probably offend some people…

Here it is though.

Leave a Reply

